About Us
Key Services
National Officers
Regional Branches
Life Members
Subject Profiles
Business Studies
Digital Technologies
Subject Landscapes
Business Studies
Digital Technologies
CETA Services
Order Forms
CETA Chats & Subject Chats
CETA Bites
Professional Learning
Membership Forms
Members Input
Contact Information
Postal Address:
PO Box 95
Oamaru, 9444
New Zealand
Phone +64 3 434 7099

The New Zealand Curriculum

The New Zealand Curriculum is a statement of official policy relating to teaching and learning in English-medium New Zealand schools. Its principal function is to set the direction for student learning and to provide guidance for schools as they design and review their curriculum. The New Zealand Curriculum applies to all English-medium state schools (including integrated schools) and to all students in those schools, irrespective of their gender, sexuality, ethnicity, belief, ability or disability, social or cultural background, or geographical location. The term “students” is used throughout in this inclusive sense unless the context clearly relates to a particular group. (source: NZ Curriculum Online)

To read more about the New Zealand Curriculum visit the NZCurriculum website

Technology in the New Zealand Curriculum
Digital Technologies sits within the Technology learning area of the New Zealand Curriculum and at senior level has become a new specialist subject within this learning area. At senior level (levels 6, 7 and 8 in the NZ Curriculum), Digital Technologies is made up of five specialist areas: Digital Information, Digital Media, Digital Infrastructure, Programming and Computer Science, And Electronics.

Within a programme of learning students should carry out some aspect of technological practice whilst developing their digital technology outcomes thus ensuring.

The New Zealand Curriculum specifies three strands and eight learning objectives for the for the learning area of technology:

To read more about the three technology stands visit the learning area page on TKI.

Read more about the Technology Learning Objectives visit the Technology Learning Objectives page on TKI

To download the most recent Technology Matrix visit the TKI website

Specialist Technology Areas

In addition to the genetic technology achievement objectives found in New Zealand Curriculum, learning objectives have been developed to recognise the knowledge and skills that are valued in specialist areas of technology.

The following links will take you to the appropriate page to read more about the Digital Technologies subject areas and other possible achievement and learning objectives:

1. Digital Information

2. Digital Media

3. Programming and Computer Science

4. Electronics

5. Digital Infrastructure

Achievement Standards
A list of the subject areas and access to the achievement standards for each subject area within the technology learning area can be accessed via the NZQA website.

View the Technology subject areas and Generic Technology Achievement Standards on the NZQA Website

There are 12 Level One Digital Technologies Achievement Standards. Access the Level One Digital Technologies Achievement Standards here

Achievement Standard Details
1. Assessment Specifications – these are published in March of every year and they detail any specific details about the Achievement Standard and prior year’s assessment reports the national moderators reports. These are available at each level on the NZQA website.

2. TKI exemplars – these are examples of internal assessments that are designed to be used in class after adapting them specifically for the students.

3. National Moderator’s Newsletters – every term during the year the national moderator in Technology publishes a newsletter that details specific information on current internal assessment issues.

4. Best Practice Workshops – the national moderators in Computing/Technology run workshops around New Zealand covering the internal assessment in Technology/Computing and Digital Technologies, dates and venues of these workshops are detailed on the NZQA website.

The performance standard for Scholarship, previous examination papers, schedules, examples of student work and the current assessment specification are available on the Scholarship Technology page on the NZQA website.

Computing Unit Standards
The computing unit standards may still be
used as assessment tools until the expiring date has been met. The expiring date is given on the Unit Standard and on the NZQA website. For Example: This standard is expiring. The last date for assessment to take place is 31 December 2011.

Access the Levels 1-3 Generic Computing Unit Standards from the NZQA Website

To read more about expiring Unit Standards visit the Changes to Unit Standards page

To read more about approaches to assessing unit standards and clarification on some of the terminology used in the Computing Unit Standards visit the Unit Standard Clarification webpage

Other Resources:


Case Study Material – Classroom Practice:
The case studies provide easy access to quality practice in technology education and can be accessed via the Techlink website under Case studies

Events Calendar:
To find out dates and venues for upcoming Professional Development visit the Technology News page on Techlink

What literacy knowledge and skills do my students have in Technology?

Access a wide selection of support material for effective literacy teaching practice in Technology from Literacy Online

The resources on the TKI/Literacy-Online portal will help support the teaching of junior technology (years 9-10) and secondary technology programmes.

NZCETA Digital Technologies Resources
Years 9 &10 - For programme design and implementation appropriate for the NZ Technology Curriculum level 4 & 5

Year11 - For programme design and implementation appropriate for the NZ Technology Curriculum level 6 and NCEA Level One